+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Your Rules on Freelance?

Banned sealovechild is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Your Rules on Freelance?

Please share your own personal rules or guidelines when it comes to freelancing. I'm a budding freelancer myself, and your guidance in the design field will definitely help me... and others who might be watching this thread.

Junior Member jsavage is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Clarifying all expectations up front has been the most important for me.

Banned Skatexius is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Depending on the value and the size of work, writing up a good contract so you can be safe in case of complications or additional work which would be payed hourly or in whatever way you prefer. I also like to get payed or get at least half of it a certain points of the design process, especially before handing out any open files :)

I also have no problem quitting the job in the middle of the process if the client is being unreasonable or expecting a lot more than they are willing to pay, or are even making serious problems and not respecting me or my work. I did that once since i working with a friend on that job and she needed the money, and it was a real black spot client wise. Dont let your clients exploit you and not value your work, just quit that shit and find someone who will appreciate you and your time.

Junior Member misjleroi is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I used to be a freelancers, but since a couple of years or so I'm the one who gives assignments know

Pro tip:As a freelancer, ask for a solid briefing, containing at least the following:
    • What
    • Why
    • Medium
    • Motto
    • Feel
    • Story
    • Lead of Briefing
    • Problem
    • Target Audience (and their view)
    • Target thought
    • Previous Attempts

This has helped me (as a freelancer but also as a contractor) in a great deal to clarify wishes. GL!