+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: We all know this problem

Banned Screwed Up is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I'm all too familiar with these types of people - very prominent when I began doing freelance work.

As someone above mentioned, I think it comes down to client management skills. As a beginner, I didn't want to be seen as the 'bad guy', especially with close acquaintances, but there's only so much stress one can endure before they have to put their foot down and nip the problem.

My advice is simple: If the work isn't worthwhile, don't do it. I had to learn this the hard way.

Banned nugget is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    So far I've been lowering my amount to friends. I don't know why I do that but it seems right (but it isn't... at all). With all the work you've put in, and you criticising your work for them over and over again. We're talking a lot of hours here.

So my advice is: just don't do it. It might be hard at first but after a while, people stop asking you.

Last tip: weekend=weekend. So no personal projects or work.

Banned diskographik is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by nugget View Post
    Last tip: weekend=weekend. So no personal projects or work.
    both hands seconding that!

Banned jackiinaa is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I'm dealing with this problem ever since I started my career (10+ yrs now). Just learn how to say NO in a most polite way you are able to. Because nobody wants to hear just no. Explain that you are in the middle of other job and you have no time. You can even recommend some other designer... :)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to jackiinaa For This Useful Post:

Banned heloo is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    " It'll give you exposure, and lead to paying work"...... hate that!

Junior Member flymac is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    All summarised quite beautifully in this video - it's a classic, still funny!