+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: School for graphic design?

Banned tranquilconflict is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

School for graphic design?

Do you think formal schooling is actually worth it in this field? If you've been through it, what was your experience like? What about grad school? Is it only good if you want to teach?

Member sim888 is just really nice sim888 is just really nice sim888 is just really nice sim888 is just really nice sim888 is just really nice
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by tranquilconflict View Post
    Do you think formal schooling is actually worth it in this field? If you've been through it, what was your experience like? What about grad school? Is it only good if you want to teach?
    While I have a degree in design (communication design) there really is no right or wrong, its up to the individual, and what they 'learn' themselves. That goes for those formally educated too! That piece of paper isn't worth much if your work / folio is no good and you don't keep 'learning'...

good read here:
    Code:
    Only the registered members can see the download links/content. pleaseĀ Register to gain full access.

Banned poltergeist is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    If you are good, you are good. If not, no degree is gonna help you.

But it's not a bad thing just to meet some new people and to be in that surrounding. Who knows what door can open for you.

Banned rx61 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I went to art school but took graphic design courses while i was getting my degree. from my experience, i didn't so much need classes to learn technical stuff (so many good tutorials out there) but thinking about colour and composition, especially colour theory as well as lots of opportunities to discuss projects with people and get to know their work process was really beneficial. of course you don't necessarily need a degree course for this, but it helped me.