+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need Tips for a hand drawn logo design

Junior Member aalish is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Need Tips for a hand drawn logo design

I am very new to logo, I have some experience with hand drawing, I got a request from a potential customer and she asked me to hand draw for her a mermaid with some other extra stuff. I want to make it to a silhouette and vectorize it.

if anyone has any tips about hand draw logos, or they can post some type of book that help them for such thing it would be greatly appreciated.

Before anyone jumps to judgment, I didn't ask for money ahead, I told her is she likes it, she can pay for it, If she doesn't like it, I will be happy with the experience, since im new to this.

Thanks,
    Aalish

Junior Member Soren is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Well, it's very hard to give advice, because everyone has their own opinion on the subject and it pretty much sums up as what works for you. But here's what I can tell from personal experience:

1. Try to ask her if she's seen anything she liked particularly. Maybe show her some references. That way you can solve two things at once: you'll make out what sort of style she's expecting and you'll also see how someone else solved a similar design.

2. Ask her what she plans to use it for. Design is always about the final user, not just about the client. Explain to her that she needs to think in terms of what will work best for her objectives, not just what she finds pretty.

3. You should try to make decisions based on that final user as well. Most of the time logos gain a lot by being simple, but some other times more information means more space for detail. Since it's going to be hand-made, you could as well try to exploit that and not hide the traces. A hand-drawn logo says something different than a synthetised one.