+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Is Money a Motivator?

Junior Member ciggytardust is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Is Money a Motivator?

I'm in a pickle right now. I've been working at my shop for 2+ years now, just got my first raise (wasn't even that much) but I've been offered positions at bigger companies with more pay/benefits, but I've turn them down because I simply (did) love where I worked. I love everybody I'm with, my team is my friends. Recently I got in an argument with my boss where it became clear - she didn't care about me. I was there to make everybody's lives easier and I was so oblivious to the fact my boss didn't.... Care.

Now I put in my two weeks notice yesterday. I've had it. She offered me better pay and benefits - but still I turned it down because I don't want to work for someone who doesn't care about me or my team.

Boiling down to it, I never really found money to be a motivator. What are your feelings? Is money a motivator? If so, prove me wrong.

Banned meks413 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by ciggytardust View Post
    I'm in a pickle right now. I've been working at my shop for 2+ years now, just got my first raise (wasn't even that much) but I've been offered positions at bigger companies with more pay/benefits, but I've turn them down because I simply (did) love where I worked. I love everybody I'm with, my team is my friends. Recently I got in an argument with my boss where it became clear - she didn't care about me. I was there to make everybody's lives easier and I was so oblivious to the fact my boss didn't.... Care.

Now I put in my two weeks notice yesterday. I've had it. She offered me better pay and benefits - but still I turned it down because I don't want to work for someone who doesn't care about me or my team.

Boiling down to it, I never really found money to be a motivator. What are your feelings? Is money a motivator? If so, prove me wrong.