+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Internship Advice

Banned FMotta is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Internship Advice

I am currently a third year student in Graphic Design looking for an internship for the summer.

We are often taught that we, as Graphic Designers should never give away our work for free and that we should value our skills.

Is it worth it to take an unpaid internship? How do I know if they are taking advantage of my skills?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Member brian0760 will become famous soon enough
    Thanks
    If its unpaid, they are taking advantage of your skills.

I find that having a small stipend -- even if very small -- makes the process a bit more valuable and tangible for both parties. There needs to be some cost to the company for them to value and respect your time.

And for certain skills -- like web development -- they should be paying good rates, even if you are a student… I see a lot of students taken advantage of in this area because the students don't know how valuable those skills are per hour.

In the UK a handful of art schools have stopped advertising unpaid internships to students.

http://www.theguardian.com/education/2014/jan/09/arts-universities-against-unpaid-internships?CMP=twt_gu

My program does the same. While students are allowed to take on unpaid internships, they are strongly discouraged.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to brian0760 For This Useful Post:

Junior Member Luciole is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Or you can come in France for your intership and then, you'r paid ! About 600$ a month (max. 6 and min. 2 if you want to be paid), not so much, but it's better than nothing, you can discover a country... So all positive ;)

Banned charliestills is on a distinguished road
    Thanks