+ Reply to Thread

Thread: HELP: First time freelancing at a "difficult" Agency/Studio

Banned villadean is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

HELP: First time freelancing at a Agency/Studio

Hey everyone, first time freelancer here i'm looking for some help/mentoring if possible
    to help me understand the procedures of a freelance designer.

Here's a little back story:
    I graduated just last year, and secured myself a number different paid internships where i gained lots of hands-on experience.

I've now been offered a 3-month freelancing junior designer position at a company with a annum salary of £16,000.

Because I'm a freelancer, How should i invoice them? What about Tax n stuff? (Complete Amateur)

The previous studio/agencies I've worked at had there own HR departments, should invoicing wasn't required of me.
    Last edited by villadean; 05-27-2014 at 02:29 AM.

Banned Q840av is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

More details needed

That will depend on your local laws, taxes varies per country (even within a country i.e. USA).

Banned doomallcaps is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Hi – I think it's always good to talk to a studio manager or similar in terms of getting paid. It can vary from agency to agency on payment, however most agencies will pay freelancers monthly (along with there full time staff). So best to invoice as you go.. I'd suggest weekly (depending on if a longer time period has been agreed). I'd also recommend not being afraid to follow up if your invoice hasn't been paid! From the sounds of it however as your straight from university near enough its more than likely that the agency employing you will cut you some slack for not knowing. Just my 2 cents.

Banned doomallcaps is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    There is also a ton online..

http://business.tutsplus.com/articles/a-comprehensive-guide-to-starting-your-freelance-career--fsw-14

Normal Member lesmiguel is on a distinguished road
    Thanks