+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Getting faster & increasing output

Junior Member mhioku is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Getting faster & increasing output

Curious to see if any of you veterans have any tips for students on getting more work done in a shorter period of time. Tips on process / workflow / staying focused?

Insights appreciated!

Junior Member SpeakLow21 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I graduated in June at the "top" of my class. It came at a cost. I never went out, spent a lot of money on supplies, read non-required reading, worked every weekend, never went home for holidays. But I knew that I had to take advantage of everything I could while I was there, resources even my instructors' knowledge. I worked harder than anyone else, but got faster and better quickly. I also invested a lot in annuals and books for inspiration, ways of thinking, type use. Those annuals were really helpful.

Eat right, take breaks. And good luck! Practice practice practice make make make and over-achieve.

Junior Member Lolamae has a spectacular aura about Lolamae has a spectacular aura about
    Thanks
    I really do think it is something that comes with time unfortunately, at least with the speeding up workflow aspect! Being confident is a bit part of being good at Graphic Design and trusting your concepts.

As for staying focused, I still have trouble with it!. All you can do is eliminate distractions as much as possible.

Banned mrpeach32 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    A good way to go is to budget time for each project that stays reasonable. I work for a smaller company and we are in an area that can't charge premium rates for artwork, so we have to budget time, and that means more editing your work and knowing when to stop.

It's better to have a picture in your head and work towards that than to just experiment. If you don't have any ideas take a break and come back to it.