Closed Thread
Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Thread: Freelance or Employed?

Banned bscureas is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    i think the key is to have a diverse enough portfolio that when you _are_ desperate for my, you can find in-house/corporate work pretty quickly. or at least, that's what works for me!
    Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!

Banned salvatore is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    I've been freelancing for 7 years, and I don't think I could go back to being employed. Love the freedom, and I only need to take the client's wishes into account, not the client's plus my boss's, which can sometimes be really tough to balance.
    Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!

Banned mendozaspeed is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    How do you guys find freelance work? Like how do you promote yourselves? Every designer I've talked to said they worked in the industry for a while, and then their clients just followed them.

And what kind of design work do you guys do?

Member fuzegraphics is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by mendozaspeed View Post
    How do you guys find freelance work? Like how do you promote yourselves? Every designer I've talked to said they worked in the industry for a while, and then their clients just followed them.

Register a company, create a website to showcase your portfolio, advertise on free local directories, align yourself with printers (they often get design requests which is not their core business) email newsletters / marketing, social media marketing.

It takes a while but eventually word gets around and business starts picking up.

Banned cwilli28 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by fuzegraphics View Post
    \