+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Design vs. Print Output

Member tinytoes has a spectacular aura about tinytoes has a spectacular aura about
    Thanks

Design vs. Print Output

Hello. I'm a freelance graphic designer. For those who work in the printing process, what tips can you share with me so that I can make sure my designs look great in print. I deal directly with clients and they usually just get my files and take it to the printers. I don't speak with the printers. And most of the time I get blamed if the print looks bad. Colors are all wrong, crop/trim areas are all wrong. I'm not proud of my work because most of the time, print output is bad. What instructions can I give to clients to give to their printers?

Junior Member saleem.azm81 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    it depends on which software u r using

try to keep it as simple as possible

regarding colours it must be converted to cmyk before printing and always keep some extra margin ex for A4, you keep 21.6x30.3 here 3mm extra at all sides for cutting after the final print

Junior Member saleem.azm81 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    try to get your monitor colour calibrated, other wise same colour on different monitor u will notice different color

Member tinytoes has a spectacular aura about tinytoes has a spectacular aura about
    Thanks
    Yup, I always work in CMYK unless it's for web. I also add .25" for bleed area every time. My monitor is also calibrated. I guess it's not my fault then, huh? Printers here are not as smart like in other countries.

Thanks for your replies

Donor Shap will become famous soon enough
    Thanks

Communicate with printers!

Quote Originally Posted by tinytoes View Post
    I don't speak with the printers.
    The blame game is enjoyable, if you like heated discussions, extra tension and ultimately, frustration on all sides.