+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fonts invisible in Word

  1. #1
    Member Aes Sedai will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    342
    Thanked 65 Times in 44 Posts

    Fonts invisible in Word

    I have a lot of fonts. They are stored in the computer. I see them appear in the Fontbook. But when I start the Word of my computer (Apple) then I don't see them automatically in the list. It seems like they are invisible in the Word. I don't know what to do about it and want to fix it. What should I do? I hope that someone can help me with this problem.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Aes Sedai For This Useful Post:

  3. #2
    Junior Member rude66 will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    291
    Thanked 64 Times in 19 Posts
    There could be a number of reasons for that particular problem. Not that I don't want to get into it here, but simply typing your question in Google will provide you with some answers

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to rude66 For This Useful Post:

  5. #3
    Member Fontjunkie will become famous soon enough Fontjunkie will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    558
    Thanked 93 Times in 51 Posts
    Which Word Version?

    I found in the fontlab forum with the Topic; Font Family Naming in FontLab Studio 5:


    Important for Word 2011 for Mac: In Preferences / Generating OpenType & TrueType, DISABLE “Use the OpenType names as menu names on Macintosh” (this is a new recommendation as of 2012, and different from what we previously recommended).

    Important for Word 2011 for Mac: In Preferences / Generating OpenType & TrueType / OpenType PS (.otf), DISABLE “Use PostScript FontName as FullName on Windows” (this is a new recommendation as of 2012, and different from what we previously recommended)




    To understand this you must read the complete article under
    http://forum.fontlab.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=a46fc620dc6ed1a4dbe3865539fb70 14&topic=313.0

    For Word 2011 you must change the fonts with fontlab.

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fontjunkie For This Useful Post:

  7. #4
    Member Aes Sedai will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    342
    Thanked 65 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fontjunkie View Post
    Which Word Version?

    I found in the fontlab forum with the Topic; Font Family Naming in FontLab Studio 5:


    Important for Word 2011 for Mac: In Preferences / Generating OpenType & TrueType, DISABLE “Use the OpenType names as menu names on Macintosh” (this is a new recommendation as of 2012, and different from what we previously recommended).

    Important for Word 2011 for Mac: In Preferences / Generating OpenType & TrueType / OpenType PS (.otf), DISABLE “Use PostScript FontName as FullName on Windows” (this is a new recommendation as of 2012, and different from what we previously recommended)




    To understand this you must read the complete article under
    http://forum.fontlab.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=a46fc620dc6ed1a4dbe3865539fb70 14&topic=313.0

    For Word 2011 you must change the fonts with fontlab.
    I have read the article. It is complicated. I try to figure it out. Word 2011 version is what I have. Thank you for your support.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Aes Sedai For This Useful Post:

  9. #5
    Member Fontjunkie will become famous soon enough Fontjunkie will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    558
    Thanked 93 Times in 51 Posts
    http://typophile.com/node/106956

    Some more Infos and a solution!

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fontjunkie For This Useful Post:

  11. #6
    Junior Member LeBetenoir is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    hmmm, this happened to me on occasion, and I just stopped using word- I do almost all my documents in InDesign now. that's probably nerdy. But Word is awful.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to LeBetenoir For This Useful Post:

  13. #7
    Junior Member jrclose is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
    agreed, i found most word processing programs to be pretty pitiful when trying to handle non-system fonts. InDesign all the way.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to jrclose For This Useful Post:

  15. #8
    Junior Member tomazaky is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    This happened to me, but after cleaning and removing/adding the fonts again they appeared. Also, it seems to happen a lot more in older versions of Word.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to tomazaky For This Useful Post:

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. How to "embed" fonts in a Word document?
    By 12Fontesque in forum PDF & Workflow
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-06-2013, 11:43 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 12:15 PM
  3. Quick-PDF PDF To Word Converter v2.2
    By worker in forum Full Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 06:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts