+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Rip alone or Rip with workflow

  1. #1
    Member alliswell is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

    Cool Rip alone or Rip with workflow

    hi friends,
    I am new to this forum ,I have bought a used fuji vx9600 ctp,Is Stand alone Rip or Rip with workflow better

    with regards
    alliswell

  2. #2
    Junior Member spyblack is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    rip with workflow is better because everything is already integrated with software compatible, and thus the risk of errors is reduced

  3. #3
    Junior Member itthipol is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Rip Alone or Rip Workflow

    Rip Workflow better Because contain with server imposition

  4. #4
    Banned philmusiker is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 29 Times in 22 Posts
    Rip alone is better! Why?

    It can reduce the CPU loading of your CTP control station. It is dangerous if your workstation ripped and sending output data to CTP (without build-in buffer disk) simultaneously. When your CTP control station is too busy to process your tasks, the output signal will not to be exposed correctly and nobody can find out the problem until the prints is shipped to the customer.

    The rip station should process the following heavy duties:
    - Ripping, the transparent PDF will occupy your rip for a long time!
    - Roaming, preview the rastered plates,
    - Painting 1-bit tiff to the hard disk.

    My configuration:
    - Rip station with internal 2TB hard disk for the storage of 1-bit tiff and share it with others.
    - CTP control station 'only' print the 1-bit tiff from the 2TB hard disk via network.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to philmusiker For This Useful Post:

  6. #5
    Junior Member blackcodda is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
    Surely the better way to go, especially if heavy duty is expected - better to have for all stages separate dedicated machines.

    Quote Originally Posted by philmusiker View Post
    Rip alone is better! Why?

    It can reduce the CPU loading of your CTP control station. It is dangerous if your workstation ripped and sending output data to CTP (without build-in buffer disk) simultaneously. When your CTP control station is too busy to process your tasks, the output signal will not to be exposed correctly and nobody can find out the problem until the prints is shipped to the customer.

    The rip station should process the following heavy duties:
    - Ripping, the transparent PDF will occupy your rip for a long time!
    - Roaming, preview the rastered plates,
    - Painting 1-bit tiff to the hard disk.

    My configuration:
    - Rip station with internal 2TB hard disk for the storage of 1-bit tiff and share it with others.
    - CTP control station 'only' print the 1-bit tiff from the 2TB hard disk via network.

  7. #6
    submeg
    Guest

    Ihmo

    I use NAS as storage device between RIP PC and Q2 spooler. RIP make 1bit TIFF and put it on NAS, and Spooler take it from NAS to device.

  8. #7
    PRC Member congproprint will become famous soon enough congproprint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 85 Times in 47 Posts
    always Workflow!

  9. #8
    tru
    tru is offline
    Junior Member tru is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    So what about hardware, to the boxes need to be fast? can I use Win XP?

  10. #9
    Banned philmusiker is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 29 Times in 22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tru View Post
    So what about hardware, to the boxes need to be fast? can I use Win XP?
    For rip workstation, you need more RAM memory rather than CPU speed for the current computing environment. The processing speed of entry-level PC with C2D CPU is enough for Harlequin rip v8.0 and the system I suggest not to install Win XP because the RAM memory will be limited to 2GB. If you want your rip to process 'transparent' PDF directly, you need more RAM to utilize.

    For CTP control workstation, you need to console with your CTP supplier.

  11. #10
    Member dracula is on a distinguished road dracula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    workflow with server dedicated and user is the best solution
    the machine must be dedicated and must have hardware resources
    if you have automatic process all is faster and easy and if something is hapening wrong, wrong go to the finish. allways the coins have 2 faces

  12. Your ad here

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Which PDF Workflow?
    By dtp in forum General Chat
    Replies: 82
    Last Post: 05-12-2015, 11:05 AM
  2. fijifilm xmf workflow
    By y2khoong in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 02:05 AM
  3. IPM Workflow Server
    By feralmeida in forum Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2011, 11:54 AM
  4. Heidelberg 2010 workflow
    By frknight in forum Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 11:25 AM
  5. Prinery workflow 4.5
    By Univers in forum Recycle Bin
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 09:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts