+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Graphic Designer Horror Story

Junior Member mhioku is on a distinguished road

Thumbs down Graphic Designer Horror Story

Hi all,

I'm currently a Graphic Designer at a small design / illustration studio. I've been here for a year and a half. Our team is myself, another designer, a project manager, and two partners / directors. Our clients are non-profits, tech companies, book publishers, newspapers & magazines (editorial illustration), start-ups, etc.

To be fair, there are some positive things to be said, but most of what I'd like advice on is the nightmarish, horrible aspects. I'm literally losing personal integrity every minute I stay at this place, but I'm afraid to bounce knowing it might be worse somewhere else. (I've only had one full-time position since graduation, despite getting offers from tons of places). Some of the major red flags:
    • Manipulation of employees, in order to stay late, skip lunch, complete tasks outside the other partners radar. I'm talking blatant lies.
    • Expectation that designers will generate concepts, and execute design and illustration (with mostly half-baked art direction) with the understanding that the partners ultimately own that work.
    • When not executing concepts, partner will lift project from designer to complete themselves and thus take credit for, despite the concept not being their own.
    • A work pace so fast that it leaves no time for critiques, or potential to fail, or try out new ideas or concepts. I'm talking like sketching to Illustrator comp for 3-5 directions in less than 3 hours. Could be solved with more employees but partners are too critical to hire someone new.
    • Zero teamwork mentality in the office. All projects are handled individually with one partner serving as art director.
    • Verbal abuse from partners when one tries to bring up employee concerns / problems in lieu of HR department.