+ Reply to Thread
Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 ... LastLast

Thread: what is the best large format RIP in your opinion?

Junior Member amd195 is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    onyx poster shop 7.2 is a good choice

Donor awaddon is on a distinguished road
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by CO3derek View Post
    Which rip is the bet depend on what for:
    1. for color proofing - EFI ColorProof XF, GMG, ergosoft
    2. for production - wasatch, onyx, ergosoft.
    Recommand:
    EFI ColorProof XF- easy step by step to make good result.

Ergosoft - color is good, with all color solution. it can make icc profile for any device and material, easy to paste up & production.
    Hi all, first post here and I agree

I have been printing Large format for over 10 years and currently work at a medium size printer in Southampton dealing with Litho, Digital and Large format printing.

We use both EFI ColorProof XF and Onyx Production house.

EFI is great for proofing (hence the name ColourProof), you can profile for your own papers (with the relevant plugins), also you can further tweak the colour with an optimisation profile that goes on top of the paper profile, unfortunately it struggles to cope with high volumes of individual files so is not a good option for mass large format production. We use EFI for litho print proofing where colour is critical. The colour Verifier is a very neat little tool (optional add-on) where you can use an eye-one to scan certain colours and if they are printing wrong it will automatically compensate for the variation and re-tweek your profile.

Onyx on the other hand is ideal for mass large format production as you can drop 100 files on in one go and it will fly through the ripping process one after the other, you can control, tweak and replace colours on the rip using filters, also with the option of nesting you can run whole rolls of paper consisting of multiple job continuously while unattended.