+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie Help

Junior Member hadeshades is on a distinguished road

Newbie Help

Hello everyone!

I am a student, currently pursuing my under grad. in Printing & media engineering. I am planning to do a study on printed circuits using inkjet technology on flexible substrates.

For this, I decided to modify an already bought cheap inkjet printer to print conductive nano metal ink on various flexible substrates like paper,BOPET....etc

I have a few questions regarding this.

Firstly, as far as i have researched, epson printers will suit me the most as they use micro-piezo heads with variable drop sizes. However I am planning to install a CIS system which will help me easily change the ink...etc.

do you guys think if this CIS system would in anyway interfere with the proper jetting of the metal ink??

as far as i have researched,it wouldnt as the print head is fixed on epson printers and the CIS system would basically only change the cartridge capacity. Am i right?

After some reasearch I have decided to use Epson Stylus T13 printer as it is low in cost and clears all my required specifications. Do you guys think it is the right choice?

Also please suggest a suitable RIP solution for the printer.
    As I wont be using any colored ink, hence my concern is controlling the size of the droplets rather than any color management as such.

I currently only have a very basic knowledge in the field but i wanna learn more and hence could really use some of your expert advices. :)

PRC Member lessbones is on a distinguished road