+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Harlequin hardisk scsi

  1. #1
    Donor Marcustv is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Harlequin hardisk scsi

    In an old pc computer with rip Harlequin you can replace the hardisk scsi (now unavailable) with a regular hd ?

  2. #2
    PRC Member zombie will become famous soon enough zombie will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 96 Times in 46 Posts
    yes, you can.

  3. #3
    PRC Member spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,348
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 627 Times in 357 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcustv View Post
    In an old pc computer with rip Harlequin you can replace the hardisk scsi (now unavailable) with a regular hd ?
    but dont expect the same performance with an old ide hard disk!

    maybe its time for a new pc?

  4. #4
    Junior Member Heinrich is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Imagsetter

    Which type of Imagesetter u have?

  5. #5
    Junior Member Puran is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Cool Hello

    I dont think you can fit the new hdd as it will not be compatible with your motherboard, and even the cables of the old scisi hdd and the new hdd are different

  6. #6
    Donor Marcustv is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    I have a Vrl 36 ECRM

  7. #7
    Donor Marcustv is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    if I was using a sata hd with the optinal interface for the motherboard would be better ?

  8. #8
    PRC Member spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,348
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 627 Times in 357 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcustv View Post
    if I was using a sata hd with the optinal interface for the motherboard would be better ?
    what type of card slots has your old motherboard?
    isa, pci or pci-express?

    if the board / slots are too old, you wont get an sata interface which fits.
    but this doesnt make sense either way because the whole old chipset
    on the motherboard cant handle the full speed of sata disks.

    do you need the scsi controller for connecting to the imagesetter or what kind of device is connected to the rip pc?

  9. #9
    Junior Member Heinrich is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Vrl

    U can use IDE or SATA disk. VR(L) is not so fast :)
    Make more Printerbuffer (16000).

    Greetings!

  10. #10
    Junior Member Heinrich is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Vr(l)36

    With Pelbox or SCSIPelbox, IDE disk is enough fast. I test it lot of time.

  11. Your ad here

  12. #11
    bos
    bos is offline
    Banned bos is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    You can still buy a different SCSI hard drive.
    I think it is still best to buy a similar drive, rather than converter.
    [URL="http://www.amazon.co.uk/SCSI-Hard-Drives-Internal/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=n%3A487676031"]http://www.amazon.co.uk/SCSI-Hard-Drives-Internal/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=n%3A487676031[/URL]

  13. #12
    Donor Marcustv is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Why do you recommend instead of a board scsi interface for the motherboard that allows me to use SATA disks.
    Converters ide - sata are not good.
    There are adapters for use disk hot swap to normal scsi?

  14. #13
    bos
    bos is offline
    Banned bos is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    If your board enables SATA connection using this - they are cheaper HDD - speed will not be much smaller. However, using an adapter IDE - SATA speed will be much lower.

  15. #14
    Donor Marcustv is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    The PC uses a standard motherboard PCI-IDE
    I will use a shedina PCI interface - SATA
    thanks

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. SCSI Card
    By StudioMac in forum Imposition & RiP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2016, 09:55 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2013, 03:44 PM
  3. Harlequin RIP 7.2
    By Online in forum General Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-24-2013, 07:12 AM
  4. Scsi qla-2640
    By zuz43 in forum Computer To Plate
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 09:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts