+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 92

Thread: What you tell to your client ? Which PDF/X version to use ?

  1. #1
    Donor luzterin is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    What you tell to your client ? Which PDF/X version to use ?

    I just wrote the thread for the pdf workflow. No one talk about the PDF/X standart.
    At the moment I'm using Acrobat + Pitstop + SignaStation + MetaDimension.
    I told to my clients to use PDF/X 1a or PDF/X 4. Very small details to check in the preflight step if they send me the proper PDF/x.

    Do you have problems with a PDF/X 3 ?

    Did you guys experience some nasty problems that is difficult to catch, even with all the software that we use (black text to 4 color in the rip, bad profile conversion, etc...) ?

    One of my problems - I have a pdf file, created by Indesign CS3, doesn't matter is it PDFx 1 or 3 or 4. When I put it directly in MD 7.5, the black text is fine. When I impose it with signastation 4.5, the rip always convert text to 4 color.
    No problem with other clients at all, just this one. Didn't fine some special errors in the preflight and didn't find anything wrong with a Pitstop.
    I take from the client the original CS3 files. and I make a pdf-x 1/a or 4, but from CS5.
    No problem at all.

    Did you guys have something similar ?

    Hope to move to Prepress workflow in the near future, and hope to have better results.
    I think that the new softwares gives less errors. Using a strictly PDFX standart also have better results

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to luzterin For This Useful Post:

  3. #2
    PRC Member Kitaro will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 43 Times in 30 Posts
    Hi,

    PDF/X-3s from InDesign CS3 have the problen, that every object is tagged with the ICC-profile from the output-intent. Please decalibrate such PDFs before using it in the workflow or switch to PDF/X-1a which is naturally only usefull if you export by yourself.

    With InDesign CS4 and CS5 Adobe correct this issue if I remember correctly.

    Best regards

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Kitaro For This Useful Post:

  5. #3
    Donor Dannymonky is on a distinguished road Dannymonky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Boca Raton
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    I'd say keep it simple and ask for PDF/X-1a. Less potential issues.
    I shoulda gone to college instead of the family print shop...

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dannymonky For This Useful Post:

  7. #4
    PRC Member johnlongthomas is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
    pdfx1a its old and all software can do it. No hair pulling ceremonies

  8. #5
    Junior Member splashrip is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    InDesign CS3 was very bad.... tell him to update InDesign.

    with InDesign CS3 only use PDF/X-1a. This is to 98% safe.

    He can also try EPS files or PS-Print and using Distiller to create a PDF.

  9. #6
    Donor rmstsorm is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    PDF/X-1a has less issues if you just want to RIP and print a file.

    If you need to edit the file (with Pitstop or something), then PDF/X-1 can be much more trouble then PDF/X-4.

    Can you really bounce a job back to a client asking for an alternative format - without risking lose that job to the printer down the street who will accpet and process the same file without question? You have to process what you get regardless of how well clients understand (or don't) PDFs.

    To keep all my options open, I ask for PDF/X-4.

  10. #7
    Donor luzterin is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    splashrip

    InDesign CS3 was very bad.... tell him to update InDesign.

    with InDesign CS3 only use PDF/X-1a. This is to 98% safe.

    He can also try EPS files or PS-Print and using Distiller to create a PDF.

    Yeap, PDF/X-4 always keep the things safe, except CS3 troubles.

    Thank you guys

  11. #8
    Donor jklee2k will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 53 Times in 17 Posts

    PDF/X type for Prepress...

    PDF/X-1a : asian 2byte type use older version (PDF 1.3 format)

    CS3,CS4 use PDF/X-1a 2003 v5.0

  12. #9
    PRC Member johnlongthomas is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
    If we have deep troubles with pdf we preflight, flatten, convert to paths and open in corel, then anything can be done

  13. #10
    Junior Member lululoft is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
    best way to create PDF in quark or indesign: export a PS-File and use adobe distiller for converting in PDF. PDF/X3 is now a standard.

    but sometimes i have bugs in the PDF/X3-PDF. very thin white lines are visible in the preview in acrobat. i think it is because of the tiling. once in a while they are visible after printing. that is disappointing.

    is there anyone else who get that kind of anomaly?

  14. Your ad here

  15. #11
    PRC Member r00tp will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 46 Times in 29 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lululoft View Post
    best way to create PDF in quark or indesign: export a PS-File and use adobe distiller for converting in PDF. PDF/X3 is now a standard.

    but sometimes i have bugs in the PDF/X3-PDF. very thin white lines are visible in the preview in acrobat. i think it is because of the tiling. once in a while they are visible after printing. that is disappointing.

    is there anyone else who get that kind of anomaly?
    i would not use PS/distiller anymore. Those lines you get are due to tiling that happens while flattening transparency. Turn off anti-aliasing in Acrobat to ged rid of them on screen. If you get them on print there must be something funny/wrong with your output workflow/device.

  16. #12
    PRC Member kerjak is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    We create all of our PDFs using only direct export.

  17. #13
    Junior Member devil is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    PDF/X-1a

    flattens transparencies and converts to CMYK

  18. #14
    Donor Mogly is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
    PDF/X-4

    With the last version of Prinergy work perfectly and very quickly

  19. #15
    Junior Member decoder101 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    If you have APPE 2 definitely PDFx4 otherwise PDFx1a

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pandora 3.0 Mac version
    By bananababy in forum Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 05:55 PM
  2. I need AccuRIP crack for PC, any version
    By gtdaniel in forum Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2011, 11:47 PM
  3. Trueflow SE Version 7 and Riteapprove SE
    By megadeth_sp in forum Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 06:12 PM
  4. Client for Google Translate Pro 5.1.552 Portable
    By nodongle in forum Classic Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 10:54 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 03:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts