+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Please help, why does PS softproof look nothing like my print

Donor sumilux is on a distinguished road

Please help, why does PS softproof look nothing like my print

Hi Guys,

I'm new to all this icc profiling stuff. Forgive me if I'm asking naive questions.

I've spent days trying to wrap my head around the process and it seems like quite a steep learning curve.

I use both Mac and PC. My mac is an old but late model G5, the pc is a HP workstation laptop with Quadro graphics.

I have a pretty fancy Samsung XL20 LED monitor with its own hardware LUT, also known as the Lacie 720.

I have an Eye-One pro UV spectrophotometer

My printer is an old HP Designjet 100 4 colour A1 plotter, I also have a Designjet 120NR 6 colour with roll feed.

I've tried calibrating two types of paper. An Ilford galerie inkjet photo type paper for photos. I also have a bunch of 100gm Xerox laser printer paper that can be used for inkjet. It appears coated and is quite bright. No good for photos but still great to have it profiled.

So I profiled both these papers in the DJ100 4 colour using profilemaker 5 on mac.

Prints with the profile applied do seem to work. Gray scales going from dark to light seem fairly linear though i see some red in the low registers on the photo paper. (Anyone know what may be causing this and how to fix it?)

My monitor has been profiled properly. Being an LED monitor it has a really wide gamut that surpasses Adobe RGB. This is nice in theory but unless I'm doing something wrong it looks much too saturated and its certainly no use for web browsing. As a result I've got it running srgb emulation most of the time which makes things look normal, particularly the web.