+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Asking for some suggestions about a little experiment

Junior Member anormal is on a distinguished road
    Thanks

Asking for some suggestions about a little experiment

ed: please if an admin thinks this must be in general chat, plese move it, thanks!

hi all,

i am new in this forum, and reading posts here and there it seems this is full of pros :D
    maybe you can spare some words about a thing i want to test
    i am not a pro of printing or design, but i am fluent in windows design programs, read something about color theory, color profiles, etc... so i have a little base to understand

well, what i want to test is the similarity of paints (enamel or acrilic) respect to some standards,

i am interested in military scale models and as you probably know there are some color standards for military equipment (and industrial in general as RAL) and so exists exact definitions about some colors (for example one of the NATO camouflages are defined with Bronze green, RAL 6031, Leather brown, RAL 8027 and Nato black, RAL 9021)

so?
    well, in the market there are a big list of brands which comercialize paints dedicated to this hobby, Tamiya, Vallejo, MrColor, Humbroll, Revell, etc, etc...

i know i can paint some little patches of these paints in a piece of white plastic (or cardboard or whatever you think is ideal) then use a colorimeter or spectrometer to read the XYZ (Lab?, or other data) of these color patches, and the using some color distance measure (delta E?) to test which paint is more exact to the standars

even i could use it to find substitute paints from other brands

questions:

i think i need some protocol to scan the colors maybe using some type of standard light?

what i need a colorimeter or spectrometer? i am confused about this

or maybe i can use a good and profiled flatbed scanner?

also is there a recommended brand or model? money is of course important...