+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 49

Thread: [MAC] basICColor display 5.3.0 b41.47

  1. #31
    PRC Member spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,348
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 627 Times in 357 Posts

    Thumbs down Read the rules!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    Thanks for this.
    ...or get banned!

  2. #32
    Junior Member Munkoli is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry, missed that bit about the thanking button. Does anyone know how to change the machine ID in the licence for this software? It says my machine ID has already been used for a 14 day trial. I thought that there would be a workaround. I tried changing my ethernet address already but the machine ID stayed the same. I have also removed the licence file from ~/library/Preferences
    Seems to have installed something else very hidden as problem persists after uninstalling and reinstalling. Thanks

  3. #33
    PRC Member ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 497 Times in 166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    I thought that there would be a workaround. I tried changing my ethernet address already but the machine ID stayed the same. I have also removed the licence file from ~/library/Preferences
    Seems to have installed something else very hidden as problem persists after uninstalling and reinstalling. Thanks
    MachineID calculation differs for different OS: under Windows MachineID is system HDD serial number, under OS X this is PlatformSerialNumber.
    License code depeneds on MachineID. So, under OS X it can be quite difficult to change MachineID.
    Cheers,
    CW

  4. #34
    Moderator Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 999 Times in 257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ColorWizard View Post
    MachineID calculation differs for different OS: under Windows MachineID is system HDD serial number, under OS X this is PlatformSerialNumber.
    License code depeneds on MachineID. So, under OS X it can be quite difficult to change MachineID.
    Tricky indeed, although the below method has had success with various generations of Mac's.

    Dont fry your Mac, I'm not gonna be responsible for void warranties...

    http://rogersm.net/icloud-problems-mountain-lion-serial-number

  5. #35
    Junior Member Munkoli is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. Also, any idea where the secret file is that basiccolor has left somewhere on my hdd?

  6. #36
    Moderator Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 999 Times in 257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    Thanks. Also, any idea where the secret file is that basiccolor has left somewhere on my hdd?
    no, sorry nfi. If it's phoning home it may be just putting it back every time you re-install.

    /Users/YOURNAME/Library/Saved Application State has some files under

    de.basICColor.display5.savedState
    de.basiccolor.RemindMe.savedState

    Doubt it will make any difference tho.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Willburwilde For This Useful Post:

  8. #37
    Junior Member Munkoli is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willburwilde View Post
    Tricky indeed, although the below method has had success with various generations of Mac's.

    Dont fry your Mac, I'm not gonna be responsible for void warranties...

    http://rogersm.net/icloud-problems-mountain-lion-serial-number
    I just checked that link, but it's only for setting a serial number where there isn't one. The tool can't be used to change one's it sounds like too risky a thing to do anyway. No doubt all the Apple services would break and any other software that is tied to my hardware serial.

  9. #38
    Moderator Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of Willburwilde has much to be proud of
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    215
    Thanked 999 Times in 257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    I just checked that link, but it's only for setting a serial number where there isn't one. The tool can't be used to change one's it sounds like too risky a thing to do anyway. No doubt all the Apple services would break and any other software that is tied to my hardware serial.
    Yes, depending on the era of your mac....various methods such as changing your HD, battery or other hardware will result in a blank serial number, then one can change.

    Not for the light hearted...and very off topic.
    Last edited by Willburwilde; 03-30-2016 at 03:45 PM.

  10. #39
    PRC Member ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 497 Times in 166 Posts
    Deleting the license file (demo license?) will not help you. I will explain why.
    A license file, but actually a license code, is tied to a serial number. After you got a time-limited license file from basICColor, your MachineID was recorded in their database. If you will try to request another time-limited license for the same MachineID you will get only an error message. So, if you don't want to change a serial number, you have to either find another license generator (online or offline) or a crack... or to buy it :)
    So, your options are:
    • to get a time-limited license for other MachineID
    • to get a demo license from a dealer
    • to find an alternative (usually illegal) way to use this app.
    Cheers,
    CW

  11. #40
    PRC Member spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all spider is a name known to all
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,348
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 627 Times in 357 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ColorWizard View Post
    Deleting the license file (demo license?) will not help you. I will explain why.
    A license file, but actually a license code, is tied to a serial number. After you got a time-limited license file from basICColor, your MachineID was recorded in their database. If you will try to request another time-limited license for the same MachineID you will get only an error message. So, if you don't want to change a serial number, you have to either find another license generator (online or offline) or a crack... or to buy it :)
    So, your options are:
    • to get a time-limited license for other MachineID
    • to get a demo license from a dealer
    • to find an alternative (usually illegal) way to use this app.
    i guess there is another option:

    just install the app inside a virtual machine!

    this way you may revert to initial state or
    fiddle with the machine id parameters to your needs.

  12. Your ad here

  13. #41
    PRC Member ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 497 Times in 166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by spider View Post
    i guess there is another option:

    just install the app inside a virtual machine!

    this way you may revert to initial state or
    fiddle with the machine id parameters to your needs.
    Absolutely! Thank you good Samaritan!
    Thanks to God, this is not my option!
    Cheers,
    CW

  14. #42
    Junior Member Munkoli is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. Problem is, is that I have something that replaces two file inside the macOS folder inside the app. But it doesn't work. It should do, but somehow it knows that I have done trial before. Yes buying is always an option, but I would like further testing before committing.

  15. #43
    PRC Member ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 497 Times in 166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    Thanks. Problem is, is that I have something that replaces two file inside the macOS folder inside the app. But it doesn't work. It should do, but somehow it knows that I have done trial before. Yes buying is always an option, but I would like further testing before committing.
    I think that "something you have" is actually a crack... that doesn't work as you expect.
    You said also that you still need more testing before buying. May I ask you, what exactly you are looking for? What did you test already and which results?
    IMHO, you will get much better results (in terms of calibration results) for non-hardware calibrated displays using ArgyllCMS (+3rd party GUI). But basICColor display is not expensive and gives you not bad result out of the box.
    If you are looking for a crack for a non-expensive tool, I doubt that you are actually going to buy it. Am I wrong?
    Cheers,
    CW

  16. #44
    Junior Member Munkoli is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You are probably right in saying I should use Argyll. I have tried, but couldn't get my puck to load, but should give it another try. (I have old Display 2). When I tested the Basiccolor first time I found it a more accurate calibration than other options available at the time. But I wanted to see if it still holds up to other options.

  17. #45
    PRC Member ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard is a glorious beacon of light ColorWizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 497 Times in 166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkoli View Post
    You are probably right in saying I should use Argyll. I have tried, but couldn't get my puck to load, but should give it another try. (I have old Display 2). When I tested the Basiccolor first time I found it a more accurate calibration than other options available at the time. But I wanted to see if it still holds up to other options.
    There are not many solutions for the display calibration/profiling, but among them I would prefer to use ArgyllCMS, at least, for the display calibration. Sometime I use the tandem of ArgyllCMS + basICColor display.
    As I already said, ArgyllCMS is especially useful with non-hardware calibrated displays. Don't waste your time, give Argyll another try.
    Cheers,
    CW

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to ColorWizard For This Useful Post:

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Basiccolor Display 5.20
    By ColorProofer in forum Installer or Patch Only
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-27-2013, 11:19 AM
  2. basICColor display 5.0.3 Mac
    By uegdg in forum Resources
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2013, 04:21 AM
  3. basICColor display 5
    By Tom01 in forum Color Proofing Management
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-10-2012, 06:25 AM
  4. basiccolor display 5 for mac, IE, osx
    By yadaaa in forum Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 12:26 AM
  5. BasICColor Display 5.0.1 [Fix Only]
    By Bob12345 in forum Installer or Patch Only
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2012, 07:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts