+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Distortion in Esko Plato. Question for Plato experts.

  1. #1
    firsikov
    Guest

    Exclamation Distortion in Esko Plato. Question for Plato experts.

    Hello, All.

    How i can distort the size of the grid (or plate or sheet) in Esko Plato? Distortion percentage in Layout Setup is unusable for me.

    I need to specify the size in millimeters rather than in percentages.

    Plato 7.4

  2. #2
    Junior Member pinkschool is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
    In Plato you can't distortion.
    You can send to Backstage (Ctrl +Shift+S) and put % distortion (V or H ) before Lauch rip with Rip T4 or Rip C

  3. #3
    firsikov
    Guest
    I'm talking about changing the size of the grid. Why I can not change the size?

    Name:  plato-1.jpg
Views: 592
Size:  103.1 KB

  4. #4
    PRC Member bamboo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
    You want something strange.

    Try to place your files (grids), then Save and Re-open your plato document. Alt-Enter and you should be able to transform anything you want.

    BUT: you need to use EDIT STATION command, not in the Grids menu. Window - Stations, select the (previously placed) Station - right mouse button - Edit Station. In Plato. Here press Alt-Ret for Transform and enter what you want. Or, select the station in Plato overview, and press the [A] button in toolbar ("Station view"). To go back press the four-square-button back ("Plate view").

    Hint: if you want to mirror yor grid, you 100% need to re-open saved doc and manually enter a NEGATIVE value to the Width: [ ]. (Just place a "-" sign before actual width value, and it will be mirrored).

  5. #5
    PRC Member bamboo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
    It is bad idea - the RIP will slow down etc.

    Instead, you can use stair-steps, gaps, die-cut ink, etc. Look deep into the Stations properties and Menu commands.
    Do not transform much in Plato. Plato is not for transforms.

  6. #6
    PRC Member bamboo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkschool View Post
    In Plato you can't distortion.
    Actually, we CAN do distort in Plato. Without Packedge, just using Edit Station mode (command) - Alt-Return.

    But I have no idea about *why* this is need.
    Just one: to create "motion-blurred" station-copy for cropping bleed by entering someting very big in Width, 500% or more, and then use Select Die Shape - Custom Size - (enter bleed width in mm).

  7. #7
    firsikov
    Guest
    Hi, there.

    I'm talking about flexo distortion.

    We have set of print cylinders. At this time for each cylinder we have set a distortion manualy (for example in illustrator) for full plate.

    For examle, lenght of circle for cylinder #500 is 500 mm. Distorted plate must be 492,28 mm. If we will use percentage, it will be 98,456%. But! We have many of cylinders. And percentage for each will be near. And it affects the control. Because the operator is clear that the value of 485 refers to the cylinder #500. But to what cylinder is 98.456 setting? Is it #300? Or #460?

    If the Plato can manually deform the mesh size, it's way out.

  8. #8
    PRC Member bamboo is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
    One plato file is designed for one cylinder (set of inks of color separations for one cylinder size).
    If you need to RIP a set of different cylinders, you need to use multiple Plato files.

    Distortion is set once per platofile AND/OR in the RIP settings (Job setup, use Parameters - Rip to... device, then turn on [x] set distortion from file : NO (here "from file" means "from PLATO file"), then put the distortion value in the next parameter).

    UPD. Tomorrow drop me PM, I'll prepare some screenshots for you.

  9. #9
    Donor Apa_Cska is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    home now
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts

    it is possible

    to use different distortion to different inks

    but it is not common

  10. #10
    firsikov
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Apa_Cska View Post
    to use different distortion to different inks

    but it is not common
    I not needed use different distortions for different inks. I need to set final height of plate in mm (with grid and smartmarks).

    In Plato, when i select a grid, size parameters is unaccessible.

  11. Your ad here

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Question to ArtiosCAD experts
    By pochtalion in forum Packaging Technology
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 12:27 AM
  2. packedge, fastimpose, plato 7.4 license error
    By duninda in forum Forum Suggestions & Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 04:03 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 09:45 AM
  4. Esko Plato personal smartmarks
    By mao72 in forum Packaging Technology
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 08:34 AM
  5. Esko Plato
    By duninda in forum Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 05:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts