+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Artios Cad - Mimaki plotter

  1. #1
    Junior Member basic69 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Artios Cad - Mimaki plotter

    Does anybody know the workflow between artios Cad and mimaki plotter?
    I know Artios is working with kongsberg but we would use cheaper much Mimaki...

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to basic69 For This Useful Post:

  3. #2
    Member todesign is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts

    Ask Esko

    Hi your best emailing Esko their customer services department would be able to tell you everything you need to know :)

    They will probably supply you with a driver or something.

    on Artioscad in the output section you can output to "generic HPGL counter output"
    which is i gather for any other kind of plotter/sample maker.

    there is also "plot to printer" in the output section which is probably the one you want i would have thought. :)

    As I said I would email Esko and they will know exactly what to do.



    Quote Originally Posted by basic69 View Post
    Does anybody know the workflow between artios Cad and mimaki plotter?
    I know Artios is working with kongsberg but we would use cheaper much Mimaki...

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to todesign For This Useful Post:

  5. #3
    Member jacunda will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 21 Posts
    What file types does the plotter accept? Getting ArtiosCAD talking to a plotter is just a matter of mapping a drive or using a UNC path to save a output file to the plotting computer. The plotting computer then reads the file and cuts/scores/etc the medium you are working with. The default output file is a ACM but you can customize this to whatever your plotting device needs in order to properly operate.

    You might need to create a tuning file depending on the plotter input settings but I have used the DXF output option and the Generic HPGL options to send files to Data Tech samples tables before.

    It will take a bit of experimentation on your part and some reading in the ArtiosCAD users guide under outputs and the user guide for your plotter to bring it all together.

    Good Luck!

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jacunda For This Useful Post:

  7. #4
    Junior Member basic69 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by todesign View Post
    Hi your best emailing Esko their customer services department would be able to tell you everything you need to know :)

    They will probably supply you with a driver or something.

    on Artioscad in the output section you can output to "generic HPGL counter output"
    which is i gather for any other kind of plotter/sample maker.

    there is also "plot to printer" in the output section which is probably the one you want i would have thought. :)

    As I said I would email Esko and they will know exactly what to do.
    yeah, I am thinking about HPGL too.
    I don't want to ask esko because my version isn't so legal...

  8. #5
    Member todesign is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by basic69 View Post
    yeah, I am thinking about HPGL too.
    I don't want to ask esko because my version isn't so legal...
    does the mimaki come with any software like a rip or something? as jacunda
    said once a connection is made its just a case of setting up the file correctly and sending them to it, certain files carry more cad data then others.

    I haven't had much of an experiment with different files as we don't have any decent cad software at work but we use to get some CF2 files off a client and I didn't have to do anything to them, just send them to zund and it new what to do with it.

    Best get the artios manual out.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to todesign For This Useful Post:

  10. #6
    Junior Member basic69 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by todesign View Post
    does the mimaki come with any software like a rip or something? as jacunda
    said once a connection is made its just a case of setting up the file correctly and sending them to it, certain files carry more cad data then others.

    I haven't had much of an experiment with different files as we don't have any decent cad software at work but we use to get some CF2 files off a client and I didn't have to do anything to them, just send them to zund and it new what to do with it.

    Best get the artios manual out.
    I will try HPGL and CF2 too.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to basic69 For This Useful Post:

  12. #7
    Junior Member MSquaredDesigns is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    We have 2 Mimaki tables and had Esko come in last week to analyze our department. They confirmed their software is compatible with both Mimaki's as well as our Datatech.

    Check our the Artioscad user group on linkedin. Esko workers monitor it and can answer anything you have for them right there on the forum

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to MSquaredDesigns For This Useful Post:

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Plotter ecosolvent CHEAP??
    By awa954 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 06:04 AM
  2. Does anyone have the plotter ColorPainter H-74s?
    By meicat in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 04:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts